License Accepted in More Than 29 states

Concealed Handgun Certification Course

$59.99

  • 100% Online

  • The Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit is recognized in at least 29 States (Shown in Blue)

  • Passing this course will allow you to apply for your Virginia concealed carry permit

  • Get your money back if you don’t pass the course or don’t qualify for the permit

SKU: 41241241412 Category: Tag:

Who should take this course?

1. Anyone wanting to legally carry concealed in at least 29 states.
2. Anyone wanting to protect themselves and their family while traveling.
3. Anyone wanting a multi-state, Virginia non-resident CCW permit that has no state residency requirement.

Course Outline

  • Rules of Firearm Safety

    • Assume any gun/firearm is loaded, until it can be properly checked
    • Define “Safest Possible Direction”
    • Understand how to properly operate a firearm
    • Be aware of not only your target, but also your surroundings and beyond your target
    • Do not place your finger on the trigger until you are ready to shoot at your target
    • Store your ammunition and gun(s) separately
  • Components of a Handgun

    • Barrel
    • Cylinder
    • Hammer
    • Grip
    • Firearm Safety Device
  • Components of Ammunition

    • Case
    • Bullet
    • Primer
    • Propellant
  • Loading and Unloading a Handgun

  • Care of and Storage of a Handgun

    • Keeping gun clean
    • Store firearm with a Safety Device
    • Store ammunition separate from the firearm
  • End of the Course Quiz

Instructor Certifications:

      • Member I.L.E.E.T.A.
      • Certified Glock Armorer
      • NRA Training Counselor
      • NRA Certified Rifle Instructor
      • NRA Certified Pistol Instructor
      • NRA Certified Shotgun Instructor
      • NRA Certified Chief Range Safety Officer
      • NRA Certified Personal Protection Instructor
      • NRA Certified Home Firearm Safety Instructor
      • BSIS State Certified Baton Training Instructor
      • NRA Certified “Refuse to be a Victim” Instructor
      • BSIS State Certified Firearms Training Instructor
      • California Department of Justice Certified Instructor
      • NRA Law Enforcement Handgun and Shotgun Instructor
      • Certified Monadnock Expandable Baton Advanced Instructor
      • Certified Self-Defense Instructor-McClintock Self Defense
      • Defensive Tactics Trainer-Public Safety Training Association
      • Self Defense Instructor – R.A.D. Rape Agression Defense Systems
      • American Heart Association – BLS First Aid/CPR/AED Instructor

Permit Requirements:

Along with finishing the concealed carry course the following are other requirements necessary to get a permit:

  • a completed and notarized application
  • a money order or cashier’s check for $100.00
  • a photograph meeting the designated specifications
  • a completed fingerprint card (must be obtained by a law enforcement agency)
  • a photocopy of a government issued ID
  • and a self-addressed stamped envelope

Since firearm laws are decided at the state level there is no concealed carry firearm permit accepted by all 50 states. This course however, covers all the necessary material required to demonstrate firearm knowledge to obtain a Virginia State resident or non-resident concealed carry permit and is accepted by 29 states.

Concealed Weapons Certification FAQ:

With a Multi-State Non-Resident CCW Permit, how many states can you legally carry a concealed weapon?

With a Multi-State Non-Resident CCW Permit, you can legally carry concealed in 29 states. You need to protect yourself and your family when traveling! Several states issue Multi-State, Non-Resident CCW Permits that have no state residency requirement and may be obtained by any legal resident of the United States. These are the most valuable Multi-State Concealed Carry Permits available, based on the recognition from multiple other states.

Why choose the Virginia Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit Procedure?

The Virginia Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit procedure is the only state that allows the applicant to demonstrate competence with a handgun by completing a qualified on-line firearms training or safety course. No other state specifically says that on-line courses are acceptable. Some states even state that because they do not specifically state that on-line courses are acceptable, they may deny an application if the demonstration of competence is based on an on-line course.

Why choose the Virginia Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit Procedure?

The Virginia Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit procedure is the only state that allows the applicant to demonstrate competence with a handgun by completing a qualified on-line firearms training or safety course. No other state specifically says that on-line courses are acceptable. Some states even state that because they do not specifically state that on-line courses are acceptable, they may deny an application if the demonstration of competence is based on an on-line course.

What is the purpose of the Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit?

The purpose of a Virginia Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit is to carry a handgun in a concealed manner while in the Commonwealth of Virginia. You will need to contact the authorities within your state to determine if they will honor Virginia’s Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit in your state of residence.

Find below the Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit Reciprocity and Recognition policy, listing all reciprocity states and their limitations.

Nonresidents of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 21 years of age or older, may apply in writing to the Virginia State Police for a five-year permit to carry a concealed handgun.

The application shall be made under oath before a notary or other person qualified to take oaths on a form provided by the Virginia State Police, requiring only that information necessary to determine eligibility for the permit. If the permittee is later found by the Virginia State Police to be disqualified, the permit shall be revoked and the person shall return the permit after being so notified by the Virginia State Police.

How do I make a VA Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit Application?

The application shall be made under oath before a notary or other person qualified to take oaths.  There is no requirement as to the specific state of residence of the Notary Public.

The application must be completed in its entirety.  Illegible applications will not be processed.

Does this course include Documentation of Competence with a handgun?

The applicant may demonstrate competence with a handgun by completing this on-line firearms training or safety course, conducted by a state-certified or National Rifle Association-certified firearms instructor.

A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any such course or class, conducted by a state-certified or National Rifle Association-certified firearms instructor. demonstrating competence with a handgun by the applicant.

Is there a Fingerprint Based Criminal History Record Information Check?

The application package will contain a Virginia State Police Fingerprint Card, which shall be utilized for the purpose of obtaining the applicant’s state or national criminal history record.  An additional fingerprint card will be forwarded upon request.

Otherwise, the applicant may request a law enforcement agency to obtain his or her fingerprint impressions on Applicant Fingerprint Card FD-258. 

The Virginia statute governing the issuance of Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits requires the fingerprint impressions be obtained by a law enforcement agency. Prints obtained by a private company acting as an agent of a law enforcement agency are acceptable.  Prints obtained electronically must be copied onto an Applicant Fingerprint Card FD-258; electronic submission is not available.

Upon submission of the fingerprint impressions, the applicant will be required to provide a telephone number of the individual taking the prints to facilitate this Department’s validation of print authenticity. 

The Virginia State Police, Firearms Transaction Center will submit the prints through the Central Criminal Records Exchange to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information regarding the applicant and obtaining fingerprint identification information from federal records pursuant to criminal investigations by state and local law-enforcement agencies.

Incomplete cards will be returned to the applicant for completion. 

What are the Photograph Requirements?

Every applicant for a nonresident concealed handgun permit must submit one photograph for inclusion on the permit.

Your photograph must be:

  • 2 x 2 inches in width and height
  • Taken within the past 6 months.
  • Color or black and white.
  • Full face, front view with a plain white or off-white background with the head centered in the frame. The applicant’s head, including both face and hair, should be shown from the crown of the head to the tip of the chin on top and bottom and from hairline side-to-side. Side or angled views are not accepted.
  • Background must be plain white or off-white. Photos with dark, busy, or patterned backgrounds will not be accepted.
  • Taken in normal street attire. Uniforms should not be worn in photographs except religious attire that is worn daily. Do not wear a hat or headgear. If you normally wear prescription glasses, a hearing device, wig or similar articles, they should be worn for your picture.  Dark glasses or nonprescription glasses with tinted lenses are not acceptable unless you need them for medical reasons. A medical certificate may be required. A photograph depicting a person wearing a traditional facemask or veil that does not permit adequate identification is not acceptable.
  • Digitally reproduced photographs must be reproduced without discernible pixels or dot patterns.
  • A photocopied photograph is NOT accepted.
  • The photograph will not be returned in instances of denied applications.

Is there a Proof of Identification requirement?

The applicant must provide a legible photocopy of a valid photo-ID issued by a governmental agency.

Persons Not Qualified to Obtain a Permit

  • An individual who is ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to §§ 18.2-308.1:118.2-308.1:2 or § 18.2-308.1:3 or the substantially similar law of any other state or of the United States.
  • An individual who was ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:1 and who was discharged from the custody of the Commissioner pursuant to § 19.2-182.7 less than five-years before the date of his application for a concealed handgun permit.
  • An individual who was ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:2 and whose competency or capacity was restored pursuant to former § 37.1-134.1 or § 37.2-1012 less than five-years before the date of his application for a concealed handgun permit.
  • An individual who was ineligible to possess a firearm under § 18.2-308.1:3and who was released from commitment less than five-years before the date of this application for a concealed handgun permit.
  • An individual who is subject to a restraining order or to a protective order and prohibited by   § 18.2-308.1:4 from purchasing or transporting a firearm.
  • An individual who is prohibited by § 18.2-308.2 from possessing or transporting a firearm, except that a permit may be obtained in accordance with subsection C of that section.
  • An individual who has been convicted of two or more misdemeanors within the five-year period immediately preceding the application, if one of the misdemeanors was a Class 1 misdemeanor, but the agency shall have the discretion to deny a permit for two or more misdemeanors that are not Class 1. Traffic infractions or reckless driving shall not be considered for purposes of this disqualification.
  • An individual who is addicted to, or is an unlawful user or distributor of, marijuana or any controlled substance.
  • An individual who has been convicted of a violation of § 18.2-266 or a substantially similar local ordinance, or of public drunkenness, or of a substantially similar offense under the laws of any other state, the District of Columbia, the United States, or its territories within the three-year period immediately preceding the application, or who is a habitual drunkard as determined pursuant to § 4.1-333.
  • An alien other than an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States.
  • An individual who has been discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions.
  • An individual who is a fugitive from justice.
  • An individual, who it is alleged, in a sworn written statement submitted by the sheriff, chief of police or attorney for the Commonwealth in the opinion of such sheriff, chief of police or attorney for the Commonwealth, is likely to use a weapon unlawfully or negligently to endanger others. The statement of the sheriff, chief of police or the attorney for the Commonwealth shall be based upon personal knowledge or upon the sworn written statement of a competent person having personal knowledge.
  • An individual who has been convicted of any assault, assault and battery, sexual battery, discharging of a firearm in violation of § 18.2-280 or §18.2-286.1 or brandishing of a firearm in violation of § 18.2-282 within the three-year period immediately preceding the application.
  • An individual who has been convicted of stalking.
  • An individual whose previous convictions or adjudications of delinquency were based on an offense which would have been at the time of conviction a felony if committed by an adult under the laws of any state, the District of Columbia, the United States or its territories. For purposes of this disqualifier, only convictions occurring within sixteen-years following the later of the date of (i) the conviction or adjudication or (ii) release from any incarceration imposed upon such conviction or adjudication shall be deemed to be “previous convictions.”
  • An individual who has a felony charge pending or a charge pending for an offense listed in 14 or 15.
  • An individual who has received mental health treatment or substance abuse treatment in a residential setting within five-years prior to the date of his application for a concealed handgun permit.
  • An individual not otherwise ineligible pursuant to this section, who, within the three-year period immediately preceding the application for the permit, was found guilty of any criminal offense set forth in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247et seq.) of Chapter 7 of this title or of a criminal offense of illegal possession or distribution of marijuana or any controlled substance, under the laws of any state, the District of Columbia, or the United States or its territories.
  • An individual, not otherwise ineligible pursuant to this section, with respect to whom, within the three-year period immediately preceding the application, upon a charge of any criminal offense set forth in Article 1 (§18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of this title or upon a charge of illegal possession or distribution of marijuana or any controlled substance under the laws of any state, the District of Columbia, or the United States or its territories, the trial court found that the facts of the case were sufficient for a finding of guilt and disposed of the case pursuant to § 18.2-251 or the substantially similar law of any other state, the District of Columbia, or the United States or its territories.

What are the Carry and Notification Requirements?

The person to whom the permit is issued shall have such permit on his person at all times when he or she is carrying a concealed handgun in the Commonwealth and shall display the permit on demand by a law-enforcement officer.  The person shall also present, upon request, a valid photo-identification issued by a government agency or by the United States Department of Defense or United States State Department.

What is the Permit Renewal Process

The renewal process is identical to the processes and costs associated with the original permit with the exception of proof of competence with a handgun.  New photos and fingerprint impressions will be required. It is suggested that all renewal application packages be submitted at least 60 days prior to expiration of the existing permit.

How do I make a Change of Address?

Permit holders are requested to notify the Virginia State Police, Firearms Transaction Center (FTC) of changes of address. Notification may be made in writing to the FTC at P.O. Box 85141, Richmond, VA, 23285-5141 or on-line at nonrespermit@vsp.virginia.gov, and must include the permit file number or a photocopy of the permit.  A change of address card will be provided to the permit holder, to be retained with the original permit.

What if I need a Replacement Permits?

A replacement permit may be requested, in writing, addressed to the FTC at P.O. Box 85141, Richmond, VA, 23285-5141. All requests for replacement must include a cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $5.00 made payable to the Virginia State Police, a photograph and one of the following:

  • the permit file number
  • a photocopy of the permit
  • a photocopy of a valid photo-ID issued by a governmental agency

A replacement permit will have the same expiration date as the permit originally issued.

What if there is a Permit Revocation?

If the permittee is later found by the Virginia State Police to be disqualified, the permit shall be revoked and the person shall return the permit after being so notified by the Department of State Police.

What is Prohibited Conduct and Where Unlawful to Carry?

Section 18.2-308.012:

Any person permitted to carry a concealed handgun who is under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs while carrying such handgun in a public place is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Conviction of any of the following offenses shall be prima facie evidence, subject to rebuttal, that the person is “under the influence” for purposes of this section: manslaughter in violation of Section 18.2-36.1, maiming in violation of Section 18.2-51.4, driving while intoxicated in violation of Section 18.2-266, public intoxication in violation of Section 18.2-388, or driving while intoxicated in violation of Section 46.2-341.24.

No person who carries a concealed handgun onto the premises of any restaurant or club as defined in Section 4.1-100 for which a license to sell and serve alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption has been granted by the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board under Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia; may consume an alcoholic beverage while on the premises. A person who carries a concealed handgun onto the premises of such a restaurant or club and consumes alcoholic beverages is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. However, nothing in this subsection shall apply to a federal, state, or local law-enforcement officer.

Section 18.2-308.01: Private property when prohibited by the owner of the property, or where posted as prohibited.

Section18.2-283: To a place of worship while a meeting for religious purposes is being held at such place, without good and sufficient reason.

Section18.2-283.1: Courthouse.

Section18.2-308.1: School property. Exemptions to this statute include a person who has a valid concealed handgun permit and possesses a concealed handgun while in a motor vehicle in a parking lot, traffic circle, or other means of vehicular ingress or egress to the school.

Section18.2-287.01: Carrying weapon in air carrier airport terminal.

What is the Appeal Procedure for the nonresident concealed handgun permit

If you are denied a nonresident concealed handgun permit and do not believe that you have a previous conviction or other disqualification that renders you ineligible, you may contact the Firearms Transaction Center to discuss the ineligible determination and/or to provide additional information deemed pertinent to the final determination of eligibility.

Any person denied a permit and not satisfied with the explanation provided by the Firearms Transaction Center may appeal such denial to the Superintendent of State Police provided that any such action is initiated within 30-days of the denial by the State Police.  Such appeal must be in writing, setting forth any grounds, which the applicant wishes to be considered. The Superintendent of State Police shall consider each such appeal, and will notify the applicant in writing of his decision within five (5) business days after the day on which the appeal is received.

What is the Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit Reciprocity and Recognition policy?

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2016 the holder of a valid concealed handgun or concealed weapon permit or license issued by another state1may carry a concealed handgun in Virginia provided:

  1. the holder of such permit or license  is at least 21 years of age; and
  2. the permit or license holder carries a photo identification issued by a government agency of any state or by the U.S. Department of Defense or U.S. Department of State; and
  3. the holder displays the permit or license and such identification upon demand by a law-enforcement officer; and
  4. the permit or license holder has not previously had a Virginia concealed handgun permit revoked.

Although the new law requires Virginia to grant recognition to all states that issue permits, those states may not authorize Virginia permit holders to possess a firearm in their state.

The following is a list of states that have indicated that they will recognize Virginia permits effective July 1, 2016.  Prior to traveling citizens should contact each state they intend to travel through to determine if that state will recognize their Virginia resident or non-resident concealed carry permit and to ensure the laws have not changed since this list was compiled.

JurisdictionLimitations
Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
ColoradoVirginia Resident Permits Only
FloridaVirginia Resident Permits Only
Idaho
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
MaineVirginia Resident Permits Only
MichiganVirginia Resident Permits Only
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Mexico
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
PennsylvaniaVirginia Resident Permits Only
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
West Virginia
WisconsinVirginia Nonresident Permits Only
Wyoming


Disclaimer:

This course will cover all material required to demonstrate firearm knowledge and meets the requirements for obtaining the Virginia State resident or non-resident concealed carry permit and includes a certificate of competency with a handgun. It is not a license or permit to carry a concealed weapon in any state. The Virginia State Police application, fees with satisfying requirements are required to be issued a Virginia State resident or non-resident concealed carry permit. The determination as to whether you are authorized to carry a concealed weapon in any City, State or restricted locations is your exclusive responsibility.